Nils Harley Boisen - Reisverslag uit Ottawa, Canada van geoffyork - WaarBenJij.nu Nils Harley Boisen - Reisverslag uit Ottawa, Canada van geoffyork - WaarBenJij.nu

Nils Harley Boisen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

26 Mei 2014 | Canada, Ottawa


Geoff, I’m happy for you, bad sad for us who get to work with you.


Top 3 things I’ll miss about Geoff:
1) His Zen like calm
2) The opportunity to bump into him like when he came through Oslo on his way up to Svalbard.
3) The odd philosophical exchanges.

Best and worst times with Geoff:

Best: Definitely my trip to Alaska in the fall of 2012 to be part of the GAP strategy meetings. Geoff and I were both staying at friend’s houses in Anchorage, and because geoff had a rental car he’d give me rides to and from the meetings – so we had a good opportunity to get to know each other - and Geoff is really the kind of guy you like just off the bat. Wise, witty, helpful. Our overnight excursion to that Motel to float a river with Sue, Clive and John was an absolute blast – actually quite unforgettable, even though I opted out of the river float.

Worst: Well.. I havn’t had the pleasure of a bad time with Geoff, Though I do recall the planning and execution of the International Polar Bear human Conflict Reduction workshop to be particularly taxing, and Geoff’s zen always putting me back on centre.

I can only imagine how bummed Sue and Clive are about not being able to work with Geoff on a daily basis. He’s one of the “elders” I would call a mentor and have lot of respect for (having nothing to do with “old”). People like Geoff give a lot of the right perspective to WWF, and life in general, simply through his character.

Very happy that Geoff is making a change and jumping ship to a smaller org. I’m sure he’s not only doing it for the polar bear, but himself as well and I think we should all consider the meaning of that. .

The mountains of Bozeman Montana seem like a great place to make a home. I’ve been there numerous times and it’s nice country. I hope we can stay in touch on facebook and the odd meeting if we cross paths. Maybe I can visit next year in July and run the Devil's Backbone 50 mile ultra marathon!

Happy Trails Geoff!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 07 Mei 2014
Verslag gelezen: 108
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6628

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Mei 2014 - 31 December 2014

Geoff's time with WWF

Landen bezocht: